Just transition in South Africa panel at AIX – 16 February 2021

The next AIX: Online meeting on 16 February 2021 includes a Just transition in South Africa panel and a roundtable meeting focusing on the country’s gas market.

Just transition in South Africa – 14h00 SAST / 12h00 GMT

Chair: Chanda Nxumalo, Director, Harmattan Renewables

South Africa’s transition from coal presents numerous economic, social, and political issues. The online dialogue will focus on some of these challenges and opportunities.

  • Funding mechanisms and technical assistance available to support just transitions in South Africa.
  • What’s the future for local content and BEE.
  • Risk Mitigation IPP Procurement Programme and renewables bid window 5 update.
  • Prospects for baseload and the grid in light of growing renewable capacity.

Panellists joining the live panel discussion:

  • Wayne Glossop, Business Development Manager, Wärtsilä Energy
  • Obakeng Moloabi, Business Development, Pele Green Energy
  • Mandy Rambharos, Head of Just Energy Transition Office, Eskom
  • Stanley Semelane, Senior Researcher Climate Change Services, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research – CSIR

South Africa’s gas outlook – 16h00 SAST / 14h00 GMT

A roundtable meeting examining latest developments in the country’s gas market with key contribution from Nomfundo Maseti, Full-Time Regulator Member: Piped Gas Regulation, NERSA.

Book online at: https://africa-investment-exchange.com/register-aix-online/