In May 2012, a consortium of five companies came together for the purpose of bidding for Kano Electricity Distribution Company (KEDCO) and offering efficient and sustainable energy to the people within the business territory of the company made up of Kano, Jigawa and Katsina states. The companies are: the Sahelian Energy and Integrated Services Ltd (SEIS); the Kayseri ve Civari Electric T.A.S (KCETAS) Turkey, and the Dantata Investment and Securities Company Ltd. Others are, INCAR Power Ltd and the Highland Electricity Ltd. All together they formed the Sahelian Power SPV Ltd; the company emerged as the core investor in the Kano Electricity Distribution Company Plc, after a very rigorous and transparent process which gained world acclamation.

KEDCO is one of the eleven Distribution Companies privatized by the Federal Government of Nigeria as part of the electricity power sector reform program implementation. Located in the north western geopolitical zone of Nigeria, the Company has license to generate, distribute and market electricity in the three states of Kano, Jigawa and Katsina.

Geographical coverage of the company is 67,128 Km2. The company has the largest potential in terms of customer population with the combined population of the three states at 19,564,000.00 (2006 national census).

KEDCO Plc became a Public Liability company on November 7th 2005, after the implementation of the Electricity Sector Reform Act of 2005 had started in earnest. Until November 1st 2013 when the company was physically taken over by the core investor, the distribution company operated as a pseudo-business enterprise.

As a distribution company, its core business activities are as described under section 67 of the Electricity Power Sector Reform Act which stipulates that: “A distribution license shall authorize the licensee to construct, operate and maintain a distribution system and facilities including but not limited to the following activities as may be specified in the license:
(a) The connection of customers for the purpose of receiving a supply of electricity;
(b) The installations, maintenance and funding of meters , billing and collection and ,
(c) Such other distribution service as may be prescribed for the purposes of this section”.

As at today, the Company discharges its functions of distributing and marketing of electricity through nine regional offices located across the three states.

Support for previous meetings includes:

AIX: Power & Renewables 2017